Newest Product Features: Private Sharing & Commenting

Share+Comment

Over the past few months we’ve been chatting with some of you to find out what you need to work smarter (not harder). Not surprisingly, the items at the top of your list all had to do with working better in teams.

Today, we’re super excited to introduce you to our shiny, new team features: Private Sharing & Commenting. For this post we’ll focus mostly on Private Sharing. This feature is available for people enjoying a free Gliffy trial and for Business teams of two plus.

Here’s how it works.

Getting started

Click the Share button located on the top right hand side of the nav bar.

Share_Gliffy1

Here you’ll have the option to give your collaborator certain permissions including:

  • Editing (access to edit and comment on diagrams) 
  • Commenting (access to comment on diagrams) 
  • Viewing only (access to view diagrams) 

Share_Gliffy2

Simply select the permission you’re allowing your collaborator to access and click Create New Share Link.

Gliffy_Share3

You’ll then be given a private, unsearchable link you can copy-and-paste to share with your collaborator(s).

Manage collaborators

If you’d like your collaborator to have full access to the diagram, simply click Manage Collaborators above the permissions box. This will allow them to both comment and edit your diagram.

Email notifications

The people you share your diagram with will get an email with an invitation to collaborate. 

Gliffy_EmailNotification

Once they accept (they click that big orange button), they will be taken to a viewer where they have access to view, comment or edit your diagram.

Gliffy_ViewerComment

Leaving a comment

To add comments, you and your teammates can click New Comment. An orange dot will appear on the canvas where you’ll type in words of wisdom.

Gliffy_Viewer

If your collaborators are new to Gliffy, they’ll be asked to enter their name the first time (and only the first time) they leave a comment.

They’ll be able to place their comments anywhere on the canvas and can drag the dots around.

Gliffy_Share

Editing, archiving and deleting comments

The comment owner will be able to edit, archive or delete their comments at any time, but will only be able to reply to comments others leave.

The diagram owner, on the other hand, will be able to edit, archive or delete anyone’s comment. That’s right, you have ultimate power!

Let us know your thoughts

We hope you find the new commenting feature helpful, straight-forward and easy-to-use.

If you have any questions or comments we’d love to hear from you. Please email our customer support team at support@gliffy.com or tweet us @gliffysupport.